It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:12 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 23 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:38 pm 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
Many people asked me how to make a keypad.
Here is the answer:

Download the example map from here:
http://members.chello.nl/f.kalkman1/dow ... torial.zip

Any questions? Let me know.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:08 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:04 pm
Posts: 342
Location: Granseal
Smartzenegger wrote:
Many people asked me how to make a keypad.
Here is the answer:

Download the example map from here:
http://members.chello.nl/f.kalkman1/dow ... torial.zip

Any questions? Let me know.


yes can it be set as a bomb so once opened it blows the people behind you up so they dont sneak in?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:12 pm 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
you can let it trigger anything you want.
just use it to change some properties.
its meant to understand it completly, it ant that hard.
then its easy to adjust it to your needs.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:21 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:04 pm
Posts: 342
Location: Granseal
hmm i might use this for my new version of gm_rollercoaster9 ill have to have the controls to the coasters in the cinema again thats where ill put the password lock to prevent noobs using it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:26 am 
Don't hurt me!
Don't hurt me!

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:22 am
Posts: 1
I thought about using it for my gm_bridge_collapse_v3 map, but I couldn't think of anything to put in the admin room. Maybe in my new map...

_________________
-liquidmetal :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:37 am 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
liquidmetal wrote:
I thought about using it for my gm_bridge_collapse_v3 map, but I couldn't think of anything to put in the admin room. Maybe in my new map...


you are welcome to use it.
thats why i released it.
and welcome on this forum :)

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Using it! ;D
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:06 pm 
Piece of Cake!
Piece of Cake!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 25
Location: AssHolland!
I cant even figure out, how to install it on the wall :)

_________________
Babies: Born to be Burned!!!

NEW!
In need of testing your FIREPOWER?
Then purchase "BABY BURN"!
Buy the doll now!
"Baby Burn" now in stores everywhere!
Only $ 135,- (lighter included)

[A big stone is trying to stretch my dig!]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using it! ;D
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:44 am 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
RetypeDK wrote:
I cant even figure out, how to install it on the wall :)


just copy the content and paste, keep selected. keeping texture lock on. then drag it in the 2D view to where you want it.
voila. how to change the code? that info is in the readme.txt that is enclosed in the zip file.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:44 pm 
Piece of Cake!
Piece of Cake!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:05 pm
Posts: 25
Location: AssHolland!
I need to choose something example: prop_something
i need to choose something and then choose world model ?

_________________
Babies: Born to be Burned!!!

NEW!
In need of testing your FIREPOWER?
Then purchase "BABY BURN"!
Buy the doll now!
"Baby Burn" now in stores everywhere!
Only $ 135,- (lighter included)

[A big stone is trying to stretch my dig!]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:54 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:04 pm
Posts: 342
Location: Granseal
when i started mapping i just did one thing at a time so i now how all the important stuff works

(as long as you now how to make walls and player start points then you are ok)

ps; do you even now how to copy and paste?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:12 pm 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
NA_PREDATOR wrote:
when i started mapping i just did one thing at a time so i now how all the important stuff works

(as long as you now how to make walls and player start points then you are ok)

ps; do you even now how to copy and paste?


yes, just copy and paste. just like windows shit.
its the same clipboard.
CTRL+C = copy
CTRL+V = paste

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:34 pm 
Let's Rock!
Let's Rock!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:58 pm
Posts: 92
Location: France, Alsace
Perfect : just what I wanted ^^

_________________
Bananas....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 6:59 pm 
Let's Rock!
Let's Rock!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:08 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Uk
Its great, the texture and everything, but i dont get it, how do u create the func_buttons to be activated in a ceratin order

_________________
[CC] Rebel
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:51 pm 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
J104 wrote:
Its great, the texture and everything, but i dont get it, how do u create the func_buttons to be activated in a ceratin order


as you can see, the buttons + the logic relay work together.
there is no better thing to see it for yourself.
and you already have it.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:57 am 
Damn I'm Good!
Damn I'm Good!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 404
Location: United States, Wisconsin
Nice! That must have taken a while to make. ;)

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:25 pm 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
Ninja2 wrote:
Nice! That must have taken a while to make. ;)


no, making it no.
but thinking about it and designing it to make it as less entities possible, yes.
5 relais and 12 buttons is all it takes basically.
but you always need the thing to trigger, and a time interval to secure unlimited ammount of tries.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:23 am 
Damn I'm Good!
Damn I'm Good!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 404
Location: United States, Wisconsin
Yes but to come up with the way it works like when you push one button it enables certain things and disables others. And making it that they had to be activated in order.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:49 pm 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
yes well, i did create it, and though it all up the way it works as you know it today.
i know there are others with lots of entities etc. but i created my own.
there is only one minor of mine, you can't set double digits, like 1123 or 1231 or 1112 every digit can only be used once in a code like 1234 or 1526 for instance.
you get it?

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:27 pm 
Damn I'm Good!
Damn I'm Good!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 404
Location: United States, Wisconsin
yup but in a way that could be good because it doesent complicate it.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:14 pm 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
Ninja2 wrote:
yup but in a way that could be good because it doesent complicate it.


indeed! i like the simplicity and yet the briliance because the ammount of posibilities are very well sufficient.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:38 pm 
Damn I'm Good!
Damn I'm Good!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 404
Location: United States, Wisconsin
Aha! i figured out how to do it without textures!!!!
Create a prop_static of the keypad named: kypad.mdl
remove the sides from the sample button and create the code that you want basically move the 123 and 4 to were you want them and move all the buttons in front of the keypad then simply change there size to match the keys after all of this change there texture to nodraw and add the outputs:
Output named: onTrigger Target Entity: *keypads Name* Via This output: Skin Perimeter: 2
Output named: onTrigger Target Entity: *keypads Name* Via This output: Skin Perimeter: 3 after time in seconds of 1


Looks hard really is easy eh? ;) The only troubles are the you can't use the # key and the R Key in your code or on the keypad so either move those to a different location were the player can't get or delete them but that may cause errors.
To make it say error when the wrong code is put in you need to make more entities like math_counter, and a few more relays...and maybe a time not to sure but if you need help on that, or want a prefab pm me. :)

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:14 am 
[F.Kalkman]
[F.Kalkman]
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:43 am
Posts: 1940
Location: Holland - The Netherlands
Ninja2 wrote:
Aha! i figured out how to do it without textures!!!!
Create a prop_static of the keypad named: kypad.mdl
remove the sides from the sample button and create the code that you want basically move the 123 and 4 to were you want them and move all the buttons in front of the keypad then simply change there size to match the keys after all of this change there texture to nodraw and add the outputs:
Output named: onTrigger Target Entity: *keypads Name* Via This output: Skin Perimeter: 2
Output named: onTrigger Target Entity: *keypads Name* Via This output: Skin Perimeter: 3 after time in seconds of 1


Looks hard really is easy eh? ;) The only troubles are the you can't use the # key and the R Key in your code or on the keypad so either move those to a different location were the player can't get or delete them but that may cause errors.
To make it say error when the wrong code is put in you need to make more entities like math_counter, and a few more relays...and maybe a time not to sure but if you need help on that, or want a prefab pm me. :)


i want to use my texture, i turn texture lock off, and drag the numbers in order aside the pad, and then rearage it to the their new location in order, the rest of the buttons are negatives, and so the same, their order doesn't matter, and fill up the gaps. simple! why you like that ugly keypad model?

(i already have time limit intervals on all my keypads in my maps)

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
Welcome to the new Smartzenegger.nl Versatile Game forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tutorial: how to make a keypad
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:43 pm 
Damn I'm Good!
Damn I'm Good!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:50 pm
Posts: 404
Location: United States, Wisconsin
I don't like it as much as i do your texture but it is good because that way the user that plays the map doesent need to download the texture. I don't like it with the model but think it would be useful in some cases.

_________________
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 23 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net